A little about me…

I suppose, if I’m going to do this whole blogging thing properly and actually stick with it, I should at least give you all a little insight into who I am and what it is I’ll actually be doing in Glasgow. So hello! I’m Carla, I’m 21 and I’ve just graduated from Lancaster University with a degree in English Language and Linguistics. Currently I’m back living with my parents, in my beloved home town of Nottingham, before I move up to Scotland. 

Over the next 12 months I’ll be undertaking a CSV placement at a charity based in Glasgow which supports adults with learning and physical disabilities. I’m a paid volunteer, which basically means I work full-time (approximately 35 hours per week) and, in return, I’m provided with free accommodation, a weekly food allowance, all travel expenses and £35 a week ‘pocket money’ to spend on whatever I choose (probably clothes & alcohol – sorry mum!). Ultimately, I’m planning to return to university and do a Masters in Speech and Language Therapy, so this gap year will hopefully be a massive help in securing a place on a postgraduate course. 

While I’m sure I could tell you a lot more about myself and my often weird and wonderful life I’ll kept it brief, for the time being at least!

Days until the big move: 20. 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sunsandstarsanddreams
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 13:37:23

    You live in Scotland? That’s great. I’ve always wanted to visit that place. Hopefully, through this blog, you would describe Scotland for those of us who have wanted to visit it but never got the chance to.
    Even I’m new at this blogging business but I guess if we set our heart to it, we might become professionals. 🙂
    Feel free to visit my blog or drop me a line at my email id

    Reply

    • cmorrell90
      Aug 28, 2012 @ 13:39:58

      I move there in just under three weeks and plan to do a lot of travelling around (in between work and blogging) so hopefully, I can take lots of pictures and give you a good insight to the best Scotland has to offer!

      Reply

  2. Betty Londergan
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 02:29:13

    I went to University of Lancaster too — for my junior year abroad way way WAY back in 1974 … so it’s lovely to hear from a fellow/daughter alum! Best of luck in Glasgow … you are going to do wonderfully!!! Thanks for following http://heifer12x12.com!!

    Reply

  3. Christine Laennec
    Sep 01, 2012 @ 14:14:52

    Hello Carla, thanks for signing up to my blog! I hope my random musings about life in Aberdeen are of some interest to you. I think Glasgow is a fab place. The people there are so friendly! I bet you’ll enjoy your job and find it rewarding. Happy moving day when it comes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

