Playing the waiting game…

Currently I spend most of my time on the sofa, snuggled up under my massive duvet watching a selection of Channel 4’s greatest programmes (namely Big Bang Theory & Come Dine With Me, FYI). While this is all well and good, I am starting to get rather fed up of having no actual direction or purpose in my life.

I never thought I would say this but I actually miss education. I miss learning new things, I miss sounding semi-intellectual and I miss that feeling of accomplishment whenever you complete a project and achieve something you can be proud of.

In fact, even more than this, I miss doing something “productive” with my life. This is the first summer since I was 16 that I haven’t had a part-time job, so now not only do I have a severe shortage of money, I also have a lot of free time on my hands, which as anyone in a similar situation knows is frankly quite dull. Even though I moaned constantly when I worked full-time in retail last summer I’d take my job back in a heartbeat, just so I don’t constantly have to try and fill my days with things to do.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I’ve had a brilliant summer. In fact, probably because I have had so much spare time to enjoy with my lovely friends and family, I’ve had the best summer I’ve had in years and made some wonderful memories I’ll genuinely cherish forever (soppy I know, sorry!)

But now, as we slowly draw to the end of August and my overdrafts draws ever nearer to the £1,000 limit, it is finally time for the holiday to end. I simply cannot wait to get back to work and sink my teeth into a new challenge. Roll on 17th September!

Days until the big move:18.

Leave a Reply

