Blazing a one woman tourist trail

In a bid to keep myself occupied I decided to compile a list of all the tourist attractions etc. I want to see and experience while I’m up in Scotland. Although I know money will be really very tight, I think it’s absolute waste to be not only in a city, but in a country such as Scotland and not try to see all the amazing things on my (metaphorical) doorstep. I thought I’d share part of this list on my blog, where I will undoubtedly see it most days, as a useful way of reminding myself to not just spend all my time off shopping or relaxing but to go out there, embrace a bit of culture and do a little bit of travelling around.

 

N.B. Just to clarify, none of these images are mine and were all found either on Wikipedia or through google images.

 

1. The Willow Tearooms

Number one on my list, mainly because I love tea and cake. However, designed by  the famous Glaswegian artist Charles Rennie Mackintosh in 1904, it is a great example of his renowned work.

2. Glasgow School of Art

Again, another famous example of Mackintosh’s work. May also meet some beautiful, artistic types on my travels (a girl can dream anyway!)

3. Kelvingrove Art Gallery & Museum

The most popular free attraction in Glasgow, need I say anything more!

4. The Barras

Located in the East end, this is basically a giant flea market – perfect for a bargain hunter such as myself!

5. Gig at King Tut’s Wah Wah Hut

Not only does this place have a truly excellent name, it has a reputation for being one of the best live music venues in the country – plus I haven’t been to a gig in far too long!

6. Loch Lomand

Beautiful scenery and apparently it only takes about 35 minutes from Glasgow.

7. Loch Ness

The legendary Loch Ness – massively hoping I get a glimpse of the infamous monster!

8. Hogmanay in Edinburgh

Absolutely praying I have the night off work and find time to get over to Edinburgh and celebrate a traditional Scottish Hogmanay on NYE. Possibly one of my favourite cities in the world so I’m particularly excited about the prospect of this one!

9. Traditional Burns Supper

While I’ve celebrated Burns Night before, it’s always just been a simple affair in my local Wetherspoons pub. Hoping this time I can go all out to a traditional event, complete with the addressing of the Haggis.

10. John O’Groats

This is the big one, the most Northerly end of the longest distance between two points on the British Mainland. It is so far up, it would still take me at least 8 hours via train from Glasgow. However, as this is the nearest I’ll probably ever be, I may as well give it a go!

There are many many more places I plan on visiting but I thought I’d just share a tiny bit of the list for now!  Any further suggestions of places to see and be seen would be much appreciated – particularly anywhere a bit quirky and off the traditional tourist trail. Thanks 🙂

Days until the big move:16

Leave a Reply

