Cold Feet

I’m starting to have second thoughts about moving to Glasgow. While I know deep down this is a fantastic, once-in-a-lifetime type of opportunity  I can’t help but wonder if I’ve actually made the right decision.

I had one of those days yesterday that was just lovely. My best friend came round and we sat on the sofa under my massive duvet, chatted and watched a good old rom-com (‘Life as we know it’ – if you haven’t seen it, I rather recommend it!) . We haven’t had chance to just chill out and have a lazy day together in a while and I realised after she’d left how much I’m going to miss her and how much I’ll miss just having the opportunity to do this, whenever we happen to both be free, as oppose to having to fully schedule trips into our diaries to visit one another. Indeed, when I think about all the good times I’ve had at home with my friends and family, I do start to question why on earth I’d move so far away from some of the people I care about most in the world. I know they’ll visit if they get the chance and we’re lucky enough to live in a generation that has skype, email, facebook etc. so I have no worries about losing touch, but I can’t help but also feel a little sad.

I don’t think it helps that I’ve realised just how tight a budget I’ll be on during the next year. Part of me does think I should have done the sensible thing and stayed at home, got a well paid full-time job and cleared my overdraft. I actually saw an advert for a job with the learning disability charity, Mencap, in my small home town of Long Eaton which would have been perfect for this year and not too badly paid. Obviously, I probably wouldn’t have got the job but it’s hard not to wonder how things could have turned out instead.

The rational part of my brain does know though that this year is likely to be ‘the making of me’. Whether or not I enjoy the placement, or even enjoy living in Glasgow, I know that being so independent this year will help me to grow up, become that bit more mature and help me discover who I am and what it is that I actually want from life.  Deep down I know I wouldn’t have been truly happy living at home for a whole year anyway – part of the reason I applied to volunteer is because it gave me the opportunity to move away! I guess I just never envisaged that I’d be going quite so far away.

Days until the big move:14.

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lauren
    Sep 01, 2012 @ 11:36:47

    Reply

  2. rvcallope
    Sep 01, 2012 @ 12:09:57

    hi dear, love the change in your life, you never know if it can really make your life more beautiful !!! be happy dear. love rv.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

