Weekly Photo Challenge: Free Spirit

As a new blogger, I thought it’d be fun to get involved with this week’s photo challenge – I’ve broken the rules slightly though and chosen a picture that wasn’t actually taken this week. Oops. I promise I’ll do better next time!

Anyway,the OED defines a free spirit as “an independent or uninhibited person” . Based on this definition alone, I decided to choose the following picture for this week’s theme.

For those of you that aren’t aware, this is my face. This picture was taken on Monday 28th May, the date I finally finished my degree. My last exam finished at approximately 11.30am and as soon as it was over I was straight on a bus on the way to the train station to head home and celebrate. I was treated to a beautiful 3 course meal (and a cheeky cocktail as you can see!) at my favourite restaurant, Jamie’s Italian. It was a gorgeous summer evening so we sit outside in the so-called ‘secret garden’, which is possibly one of my favourite places in the city. After weeks of exam stress this was my first chance to properly unwind and, as the evening drew on, it occurred to me that, for the first time in my life I had no plan. I had hopes and dreams and half-plans but nothing immediate or concrete. I was, possibly for the first time in 21 years, truly free to do whatever I pleased with the rest of my life. I was independent. I was uninhibited. I was, by that very definition, a free spirit.

There were a number of other pictures I could have chosen, taken from various travels, that would also encapsulated this theme. I have pictures of Byron Bay, Australia which is most definitely a large community of free spirits (and one of my favourite places in Australia by a mile). Likewise, I have pictures of breath-taking scenery that would again fit this brief and would probably be more fitting or “appropriate”. But, for me, that evening and that moment, are the closest I have ever come to being a ‘free spirit’ and that is why I chose to share this particular photo.

Days until the big move:12.

Leave a Reply

