There’s no-one quite like Grandma

Today would have been my Gran’s 81st birthday so I thought it’d be nice to dedicate this blog post to the person who has probably had the single biggest influence over my life.

Me (rockin’ her headscarf) and my gran

I’ve always been really close to my gran and, because she only lived five minutes from my house, I saw her at least once, if not twice, a week. Even when I went off to Lancaster, I’d ring her once a week for a catch-up and she’d often send letters or food packages, bless her!  Unfortunately, during my first year at uni, she had a severe stroke which left her with the language disorder Aphasia. Of course, this got me interested in language disorders and, from there on in, I decided I wanted to become a speech therapist to help stroke victims improve their communication.

I was so interested in language disorders and Aphasia that I decided to write my dissertation on the topic and actually used my gran’s speech as the main basis for my data and analysis. However, two weeks before my dissertation was due, my gran suddenly passed away. She’d been in hospital for the past six weeks so it wasn’t the biggest shock but, at the same time, none of us expected her to go as suddenly as she did. I guess while I’d been aware for some time that she would never become a great-grandma or see me get married I always thought she’d at least make it to see me graduate.

From there on in I threw myself into my dissertation, mainly so I didn’t have chance to think about  how much I missed her. Luckily, all my hard work paid off. I got a really high mark which improved my overall average greatly and meant that there was now a reasonable chance I could just scrape a first-class honours degree (which in the end I achieved – yay!)

If my gran was still alive, there is absolutely no way I would be moving to Glasgow. It’s highly likely I would have stayed at home for the year or, if I had moved, it would have only have been an hour away maximum. I’m not even sure I would have found speech therapy as a career had it have not been for my gran’s own communication difficulties. I truly believe that my gran’s passing gave me the kick up the bum I needed to work that bit harder, be that bit more ambitious and to make her even prouder. While I miss her every single day, I’ll always be thankful for that push she gave me, as I doubt I would be in the amazing position I’m in now without her. I guess every cloud really does have a silver lining.

Days until the big move: 7.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. christinelaennec
    Sep 09, 2012 @ 18:55:41

    What a lovely tribute to your gran – both the post, and also your choice of career and work! I’m sure she would be / is proud of you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

