Gallery of Modern Art.

So today was my first proper jaunt into Glasgow city centre. I decided to get stuck into the tourist trail straight away and head to a free behind-the-scenes tour of the GOMA (Gallery of Modern Art) but, as I was rather early, I had a little wander up to the beautiful George Square.

The beautiful building you see at the end of the square is the City Chambers. There are also a number of statues and monuments in the square and a few bars and restaurants round the outside – definitely a hotspot for summer I think!

From there I finally headed up to the GOMA which is another pretty amazing building (it even has a statue of Wellington with a traffic cone on his head outside!). The tour was really good as we got to see the studio, which is normally only open for workshops and the actual office, which is usually staff only. The gallery itself had some pretty cool pieces and I had an enjoyable hour or so wandering around and taking in the atmosphere. 

Outside the GOMA

Inside the GOMA

One of the pieces in the Gallery

Afterwards I had a little wander round the shops (naturally) and it is definitely safe to say that Glasgow has an excellent shopping area, which is going to prove very very dangerous for my budget!  So far I’ve managed to be good and keep my spending to a minimum but I have a feeling that will all change rather soon.

Tomorrow is my first proper day at work so I’m just chilling out tonight and watching X Factor before I have an early night (sad I know!!) However I start at 8am so I have to get up around 7am which is going to be painful after the past four weeks of late nights and lie-ins. I met more staff members today and they all seem so friendly which is brilliant but I’m still a little nervous about trying to learn everything quickly and also about whether I’m actually up to the job. I’m sure they’ll ease me into it slowly though (fingers crossed anyway!)

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. christinelaennec
    Sep 16, 2012 @ 19:12:10

    Welcome to Scotland! We were just talking about the lions on George Square, which my daughter loved. I hope they won’t get rid of them in the revamp.

    I hope your job continues well and that you’ll keep settling in.

    Reply

  2. onyourwaytolalaland
    Sep 17, 2012 @ 03:06:25

    I just came across your blog yesterday…or the day before..not sure. But I am very interested on how your new journey will go! Your are very inspiring to follow your dreams. Not many of us can do that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

