T.G.I.F!

Today has been a very good Friday! I only had an 8-1 shift this morning and my supervisor said she was very impressed with my work so far which was a nice confidence boost. Plus today is pay day so I now have £60 burning a hole in my pocket! Unfortunately I get paid weekly, cash-in-hand which is very dangerous for a self-confessed spender such as myself.

This afternoon me, Eujin and Rosie (a fellow CSV Volunteer) went to the cinema to see Lawless which was actually really quite good although a little violent in some places. Tom Hardy was also looking ridiculously attractive as always so that was a definite bonus! It was a beautiful sunny day so afterwards we took a stroll to Kelvingrove Park in the West End of the city centre which was just lovely before heading to a Korean restaurant nearby. I’ve never had Korean food before but Eujin gave us some great recommendations – I had chargrilled spicy pork with squid and sticky rice which was so good. In fact, I have a sneaky suspicion we might become regulars!

Fountain at Kelvingrove

Korean Food!

This weekend looks like it’s going to be a good ‘un – tomorrow Rosie is kindly taking me to Luss, a small village in Loch Lomand which should be nice (fingers crossed the weather remains fine!) and on Sunday I’m planning to spend my wages buying vintage clothes in the West End. I can’t believe I’ve only been up here for a week – I’ve surprised myself by how quickly I’ve settled into Scottish life and how quickly I seemed to have developed an active social life. Genuinely did not think I’d enjoy it as much as I am doing, at least not initially, although I’ve been extremely lucky to meet such a friendly bunch. Next weekend I’m  headed to Edinburgh to meet more CSV volunteers which should be really good and then the weekend after I jet off to Milan so I have a great few weeks ahead 🙂 In between all these trips, full-time work and a quite dense training schedule I don’t really have much time to miss home, which is probably for the best really!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. christinelaennec
    Sep 22, 2012 @ 21:33:30

    I’m so happy to hear you’re having good fun!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

