A trip to Loch Lomand

Yesterday I decided to go on my first proper adventure outside of Glasgow and headed to Luss, a picturesque village in Loch Lomand. I set off on the train to Balloch which only took about forty minutes (and was an absolute bargain at £3.50 for a return!) From there I met Rosie and she gave me a quick tour of the town, which is on the very edge of Loch Lomand, before catching a bus to Luss.

Luss is tiny and, admittedly, there isn’t actually a lot there but it is simple lovely. The main street has lots of gorgeous cottages and this leads down to the Loch which is just beautiful.

The Loch

We also got to experience part of a traditional Scottish wedding at the village church which was a great experience. There were lots of men in kilts (be still my beating heart!) and a traditional bagpiper at the church entrance and even the vicar got involved and wore some red tartan trousers! That would DEFINITELY never happen in England!

Bagpipes! 

Of course, no afternoon out is complete without some tea and cake. We found a really cute cafe just off the main street which was very traditionally Scottish – the waiters wore kilts (accessorized with converse trainers no less!) and they even had tartan crockery which I now want for the flat!

Scottish blend tea and a cheeky slice of Lemon Drizzle Cake

We then walked off the cake and managed to climb quite a large hill that gave use great views of the Loch – unfortunately we got a little diverted from our planned route so in essence were a little lost but we made it back safely eventually!

All in all I had a great little trip 🙂 Today was also pretty decent as I spent most of it shopping for either food or clothes. There was a vintage clothing fair on at Glasgow SU and I managed to pick up three beautiful shirts for £20 so I was pretty chuffed. One of them was a dark green Barbour checked shirt which is just so baggy and comfy. The other two were cute little floral numbers that will look pretty cool with my new grey skinny jeans. I might even wear one next week for my little trip to Edinburgh!

This week looks like it might be quite good – work shifts seem pretty decent (I don’t start until 3pm tomorrow) and I’m at work with Eujin for three out of five shifts so that should be nice 🙂 Don’t have a lot planned socially until Saturday but,if the last few days are anything to go by, who knows what I’ll end up doing over the next few days!

 

Leave a Reply

