That Friday Feeling

I have now successfully completed the end of my second working week! YES.

This week has been a long one and, to be honest, it’s been a bit up and down. On the one hand, work’s gone well and I’m finally allowed to start doing some stuff by myself and have a bit more freedom. I’ve also complete the first section of my induction and finally planned what I need to do when, so it definitely all feels a lot more manageable which is good. I still have a hell of a lot of reading and learning to do but hopefully I can catch up on some of it this weekend and get ahead (or at least stay on track!)

I was also very naughty this week and booked tickets to spend Hogmanay in  Edinburgh 🙂 I am SO excited already, even though it’s a good three months away! I can’t really afford it at the moment but decided,as I have the time off work and I’m in Scotland, it would be rude to. However, I am going to have to cut back for a few weeks somewhere down the line, although I won’t worry about that until I return from Milan at least. As you may have already guessed from reading this blog I am truly awful with money. I always say one day I’ll calm down (and I really will have to at some point) but, as they say, YOLO.

Anyway, I digress. While this week has had its highs, it has also had its lows. As well as generally being a little stressed out regarding my induction, I also got my first pangs of homesickness this week. Actually, I’m not sure if it was homesickness as such because, while I miss my friend and family dearly, I don’t actually actively miss being at home. However, I just had the feeling that I wanted to be somewhere else and that maybe I’d made the wrong decision being here. I’m not sure what triggered it really (hormones probably) and it left as quickly as it came, so I’m feeling better now, but it wasn’t very pleasant. I think all I really needed was a cuddle and a pep talk but, like I say, I’m feeling  brighter today. I know in my heart of hearts this is the best decision I could have made, I just need to learn to persevere through the more difficult bits and not doubt myself so much. Easier said that done but I’m working on it.

This weekend looks like another good one. Admittedly, tonight and Sunday are mostly going to be spent doing reading which is pretty boring but tomorrow I’m off to Edinburgh for the day! I’m really looking forward to visiting capital again as it is possibly my favourite city in the world and definitely somewhere I could envisage myself settling in the not too distance future. Me and Eujin are meeting up with a group of fellow CSV Volunteers, some of which I’ve met a few times and some I’ve never met before so it’ll be nice to get to know some new faces. The sun is shining over Glasgow at the moment (just) so here’s hoping the good weather lasts for tomorrow!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. christinelaennec
    Sep 29, 2012 @ 20:59:44

    I hope you had a grand day today in Edinburgh. Re. homesickness, I remember when I left the States to emigrate to Scotland, a good friend said to me, “You have to be very good to yourself.” She told me I would have to do the things she would have done for me, for myself. And I think that’s very good advice for any time of upheaval and change. So next time the transplantation blues strike (not that I’m suggesting you’ll never leave Scotland), give yourself that cuddle!

    Reply

  2. cmorrell90
    Sep 29, 2012 @ 22:30:18

    Very sound advice, I like that a lot 🙂 Thank you so much for that!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

