The Willow Tea Rooms

I decided to treat myself this lunchtime and head out for a bite to eat at The Willow Tea Rooms, a rather famous Glaswegian landmark, designed by Charles Rennie Mackingtosh in 1904. For those of you that avidly read the blog, you may remember that I put this little cafe down as my number one attraction to see, mainly because I absolutely love food. However, instead of opting for the standard tea and cake combo, I decided to go all out and have my first traditional Scottish breakfast.

Outside

Inside 

Breakfast

Scottish breakfasts differ from traditional English breakfast in three main ways – they always have a hearty portion of black pudding, they have square sausage instead of the usual links and they have potato scone instead of hash browns. To be honest, I don’t really think any of this makes all that much difference personally but either way it was still absolutely bloody beautiful. I washed it down with three cups of Willow blend tea which was also lovely. The whole lot came to under £6 which I thought was pretty reasonable, considering that the place is a massive tourist trap.

I also got a 10% off voucher for the Buchanan street branch so I’ll probably nip for a bite to eat there one day soon as well – will definitely have to try out the cakes next time around (any excuse!)

The rest of my Sunday looks like it’ll be pretty chilled. Got some boring things to do like finish my laundry and do yet more reading but, if I get chance/can be bothered, I’m also going to try and learn some basic Italian, ready for next weekend 🙂 Exciting times!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Christine Laennec
    Oct 02, 2012 @ 20:56:43

    Oh I love the Willow Tea Rooms. I haven’t been there for a few years but I always feel I’ve been magically transported so someplace very far away from 21st century Scotland! (Which is silly – )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

