It’s oh so quiet.

I realise that I’ve been pretty quiet on the blog front this past week and it’s mainly been because, after all the excitement of my birthday, the past few days have been fairly uneventful. I’ve been spending most of this week working on my postgrad application and I’m pleased to finally announce that I have indeed sent off my first of seven (!) applications, this one being for a Speech and Language Sciences MSc at UCL in London. I don’t particularly want to move to London, well not just yet anyway, but I figured that I should at least apply to all the universities that offer my particular postgraduate  – competition for places is so high that I really cannot afford to be picky at all. I have two weeks until my next application deadline which is for Newcastle University. This is one of my top choices, mainly because I absolutely love the city (and the accent!) so the pressure is on to make this application and personal statement even better. Luckily, I’ve gotten into the swing of things a bit more now and the idea of writing a personal statement etc. doesn’t seem quite so daunting any more!

I’ve had this past weekend off and, aside from stressing a bit about the application yesterday, I had a great couple of days off. On Saturday, me and Eujin walked into Glasgow to grab some lunch and do some serious retail therapy. We went to Costa to try out the new Christmas menu – I had a honeycomb hot chocolate and a honeycomb crunch brownie and they were both absolutely delicious, plus we left feeling in a very christmassy mood! After that we had a good look round all the shops, trying to stock up our winter wardrobes. My parents had very kindly given me some money for a new winter coat and, after a lot of deliberation, I finally opted for a cheeky wine-coloured number from Miss Selfridge. It’s not my usual style at all as it has a slightly crazy fur collar and I usually stick to just plain black or grey coats, so its a little bit out there for me! Everyone else seems to really like it though so that’s good I suppose!

Saturday evening, my friends Mark & Chris held a little dinner party and I celebrated my birthday with more people from work. I had a great evening – the food was lovely, the company was good and the wine was flowing. After getting in at 4am I naturally spent all of Sunday in bed, in my pyjamas. It’s been a long time since I’ve done that so it felt really good to just have a completely lazy day. Plus I got invited to dinner downstairs so I had a lovely roast cooked for me – perfect!

This week is again looking like it could be fairly quiet. Today I have yet another day off (lucky me!) and I’m planning to spend it working on my next uni application. As it’s bonfire night though, me and Eujin are heading into town for dinner and then onto Glasgow Green for the big bonfire and firework display. I’m really excited as I absolutely love fireworks and I missed out on seeing them last year so I have high hopes for these ones. Also, this is Eujin’s first ever bonfire night so I’m excited for her to try toffee apples and other such things! The rest of the week will pretty much revolve around work, applications and finally getting round to doing this equality and diversity coursework that I need to hand it next week. Oops. I also plan on starting my Christmas shopping this week – but that’s a whole other blog post!

Leave a Reply

