‘Twas the night before Christmas…

As I write this I’m currently snuggled up in bed, wearing my brand new festive PJs and watching the sequel to The Snowman, in a desperate bid to try and feel that bit more festive. I still can’t actually believe it’s Christmas Day tomorrow and, I have to admit, it feels bloody weird not being at home this year. I’ve gone through a range of different emotions regarding my first Christmas away from home – I’ve been excited to do something new, massively homesick at the thought of being away, frustrated with myself for agreeing to work, general apathy and now I’m just accepting the fact that unfortunately I’m here and there’s not a lot I  can do about it, so I may as well make the most of it while I can. I’m at work 10-5pm tomorrow so I’ll just have a lie-in and open my presents before work and then I’ll be having Christmas dinner with the guys which will be nice. After that I’m off to a little Christmas party with some friends which should be fun and, probably more importantly, will help keep my mind off the fact that I’m not at home. I’m at work again Boxing Day and then it’ll be back to ‘normal’ (whatever that is!) on the 27th. In a way, as awful as it sounds, I’ll be glad when Christmas is over and I can crack on with my Hogmanay celebrations and all the exciting things 2013 is likely to bring! However, as much as I’m missing home, I do think I’ll still enjoy tomorrow – albeit in a very different way.

Talking of Christmas, yesterday I headed to the Edinburgh Christmas Markets with one of my closest friends from Uni, Hannah. While the weather was absolutely awful (it practically rained all day) I had a fantastic day! It was so good to have a massive catch-up and be reunited with one of my uni girls and have a good old reminisce about Lancaster life and how much we miss it 😦 Also, as I have undoubtedly mentioned many times before, Edinburgh is one of my favourite cities in the world and, no matter how many times I visit, it never ever loses its appeal. I’ve never been in the winter ebfore so it was really good to experience the markets for the first time – I have to admit they are a lot better than Glasgow’s!

005

Jenners Department Store

010

Enjoying a cheeky mulled wine

016

Edinburgh by night

I hope that everyone has a very merry Christmas, wherever there are and whoever they spend it with 🙂 Eat lots, drink lots and be merry – I know I will!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. christinelaennec
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 22:00:15

    A very merry Christmas to you! Or a quiet, happy Christmas. Here at our house, where our daughter has been ill and so isolated for over a year, we’ve had a lot of conversations about the true meaning of Christmas. I’m glad you’ve decided to be merry even far from home and no matter what. We are determined to be happy as well. Nollaig Chridheil!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

