Christmas 2012.

Well, it’s definitely safe to say that Christmas 2012 was very different to how I usually spend the day. Typically at home, I’d have a nice-long lie in, open presents with my parents at midday, have a ridiculously large Christmas dinner, stuff my face with a whole tin of Celebrations and then fall asleep just after the Queen’s Speech, waking up in time for the Eastenders Special. Nice, lazy and relaxed. That was certainly not the case this year.

This year, I was up at ridiculous o’clock to skype my mum before she started work at 7.30am. Although I’m most definitely not a morning person, I have to admit it was well worth it to see the look on her face when she opened her present – she loved it thankfully! After a quick chat with the ‘rents I then decided I simply could not wait any longer to open my own presents (such a big kid at heart!). Mainly I’d been given money so the process was over within about 10 minutes but there were still some very nice surprises along the way, which I am very grateful for 🙂

Work on Christmas Day was actually quite nice, as we got to help the guys open their presents and everyone got treated to a really nice brunch and a few cheeky glasses of Bucks Fizz (service users, not staff, I hasten to add!) Also, as there was quite a lot going on the shift went really quickly and, before I knew it, it was time to sit down for Christmas Dinner. After dinner (which was nice, but nowhere near as good as my stepdad’s!) I quickly headed upstairs to get ready for a little get-together at Hannah’s house. I had such a good night, although I should never be allowed tequila again, but it was really fun to let my hair down properly for the first time in a long time! Boxing Dy morning, however, was definitely not so much fun – it’s also been a while since I’ve felt that hungover!

Now Christmas is done, my thoughts have turned very quickly towards Hogmanay. I can’t believe that, in just a few short days, we’ll be welcoming in 2013. It’s safe to say 2012 has been an adventure from start to finish – in between the stress and excitement of my final six months at Lancaster, losing my Gran, Graduation, Australia and then of course moving to Glasgow, it has probably been the most momentous year of my life so far, by a mile actually. A lot has happened, most of it absolutely bloody brilliant, and I really just cannot thank all my friends and family enough for making this year absolutely incredible! I’m sure 2013 will also bring lots of exciting things and hopefully yet another move somewhere new! Hope you all have a very Happy Hogmanay and a great year ahead 🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. christinelaennec
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 18:50:54

    I’m so glad you enjoyed your Christmas, even far from your family. Good for you to spend it helping other people enjoy it!

    Enjoy Hogmanay – there’s nothing quite like it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

