Edinburgh’s Hogmanay – 13 Be Lucky.

Happy New Year everyone! As regular readers (and anyone that has me on any form of social networking) will know, I spent this NYE celebrating at the Edinburgh Hogmanay Street Party and, it’s safe to say, it was actually amazing! Not only was it the best NYE I’ve ever had, it was probably one of the best nights out I have ever had in my life. The atmosphere was just so electric, I can’t even really describe just how good it was because you really do have to experience it yourself to truly understand just how fantastic it is. There really is just nothing quite like it.

For those of you that don’t know, the street party takes over the whole of Princes Street and several of the surrounding side streets. There’s a fair at one end, numerous bars and eateries and then three main stages for the performers – the Scottish stage, the Waverley stage and the Rewinder stage. Me and April spent all night at the Rewinder stage, which was basically a group of DJs playing all the best songs from the past six decades. The music was just fantastic – there were classics such as ‘Love Shack’, ‘Twist and Shout’, ‘My Generation’, ‘I can’t get no satisfaction’, ‘Groove is in the heart’ and ‘Born Slippy’ to name but a few. It was so good to just hear all the tunes everyone loves but that would never hear on an ordinary night out, unless you went to a special themed place/night. Everyone was going absolutely mental, singing and dancing like their lives depended on it and just totally letting their hair down and having the time of their lives. It was bloody brilliant and me and April made sure we were right up there at the front of the stage just giving it our all!

018

Big Wheel

027

Hogmanay Poster

105

Rewinder Stage

047

Me and April 🙂

071

The Crowd

Every hour, on the hour, a small firework display happens, before the big countdown to midnight. The midnight fireworks really are just something else. Honestly, they are amazing. We were stood on The Mound, which is right underneath the castle so we had a fantastic view – my photos really do not do it justice. After the fireworks, it was then time for the world’s biggest rendition of Auld Lang Syne (so fun!) before yet more crazy dancing and singing.

077

Start of the Fireworks

080

More Fireworks

The whole night was just amazing from start to finish but, what I really loved about it, was just the whole friendly, party atmosphere. Yes, everyone was fairly drunk (ourselves most definitely included!) but there was no trouble whatsoever – everyone just wanted to have fun, let their hair down and enjoy themselves. Also, everyone was chatting to everyone else and wishing complete strangers a Happy New Year like they were old friends, which I just think is great personally!

I had such a good time, that I would do it all again in a heartbeat – in fact, when we’d only been there a few hours I said we should just do this again next year, same hotel, same everything because it was already that good! Whether we will or not remains to be seen, as it’s a bit too early to be planning these things just yet! Either way though, I am just so glad I’ve had the chance to experience a proper Scottish Hogmanay and that I got to do it in my favourite city, with one of my favourite people in the world. What a way to start the year 🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. christinelaennec
    Jan 05, 2013 @ 21:37:27

    I’m so glad you enjoyed the party – I thought you might!

    Reply

  2. cmorrell90
    Jan 05, 2013 @ 21:50:12

    Absolutely amazing! Scotland certainly know how to ring in the new year.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

