Drinking From The Bottle.

This weekend has been one of the best weekends I’ve had in a long time, mainly because I spent most of it slightly intoxicated and showing off all my best dance moves. The fun started on Friday night – one of my work friends was having an eighties themed party for her 30th Birthday which both me and Rosie were invited to. We started the night with a few cheeky drinks at mine before heading over in our best fancy dress, completely with leg-warmers and everything. There were a few other people from work there and even two of the women we support there which was really nice to see. Most of our guys headed home about 11pm (lightweights!) so me and Rosie spontaneously decided to head into Glasgow on a night out. I’ve never actually been to a proper club here before (shocking I know!) just bars or house parties so it was good to finally get out there! We ended up in The Garage which was pretty good – they played some decent music although it was full of really young students so me and Rosie (at the grand old age of 22) were probably two of the oldest people there. So depressing!

002Trying to rock the Flashdance look.

Once we’d finally managed to drag our poor hungover bodies out of bed on Saturday we both headed over to Balloch for Rosie’s leaving do with all her work colleagues. We started the night with a meal at Raffles before heading on to a couple of pubs and then going on to one of the only two clubs (it’s a wee place to say the least) which was having some kind of popcorn party – basically a foam party but with popcorn instead (whatever next!)  To say it’s only a very small “town”, I actually had a great night plus the drinks were ridiculously cheap, perfect!

007Fish-bowl! 

However it’s been a very long time since I’ve done two nights in a row and it’s safe to say I was definitely feeling it a bit by Sunday. It was well worth it though. I had a bloody amazing weekend and it was just what I needed after getting into a bit of a funk last week – I finally felt like everything had come together again and I was making the most of being up here and just enjoying myself again 🙂 Plus, the guys at work spoilt me rotten and let me join them for a beaut Sunday Roast which sorted me out nicely – they do look after me well!

In other news, I finally heard back from Newcastle today. Basically, I’ve got a place on the reserve list as a medium reserve which means that if a significant amount of people drop out then there’s a chance I could get a place. However, I was also told that medium reserves aren’t ranked as it’s highly unlikely that enough people would drop out to let me in. Although I’m obviously a little bit gutted, I’m actually feeling pretty alright about the whole thing –  I know in my heart of hearts that I just don’t have quite enough experience just yet anyway so it’s not the biggest disaster. They told me that I should strongly consider re-applying in 2014 which I will do if I can gain some more experience over the next year to help boost my application some more. If not, I may have to wait until 2015 but I’m sure I’ll get there one day (fingers crossed!). With regards to the other applications, I still haven’t heard a thing from Reading or Essex. City should get back to me by Friday (although we’ll see whether they actually do or not) and I’ve now been told that QMU won’t reply until March, so it looks like I still have a long wait ahead unfortunately. Oh well, we’ll just wait and see what happens eh!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. christinelaennec
    Feb 05, 2013 @ 20:25:59

    Your 80s outfit is very authentic! I’m so glad you had a fun weekend. And it sounds really good that Newcastle have encouraged you to reapply in a year’s time. I bet they don’t say that to everyone.
    We’ve just hung the For Sale signs on our flat today, so we’ve entered a Waiting for Something to Happen phase as well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

