RIP.

Today marks the first year since my Grandma passed away. I can’t believe just how much has changed in just 12 months and I really wish, probably more than anything, that she could have been around to see me graduate and get my first proper job and then continue on with my dream career.  Everything I’ve achieved this year, in particular my dissertation and degree, have all been for my grandma and I really do hope I’ve done her proud. I’m missing her a lot at the moment and I suppose it feels particularly strange being away from home at this time of year as well.

While there are odd things I regret (not spending enough quality time with her and especially not making it in hospital in time to say goodbye), my memories are mostly good and it’s those that I’ll try and concentrate on today. She was definitely one of my biggest heroes and has been a massive influence on my life. I always remember thinking that one day, when I’m a grandma, I’d like to be just like her and make sure I’m still as feisty and independent as she was in her old age. Admittedly neither of us were perfect but,  at the end of the day, she’s still my grandma and I’ll always love her to absolute pieces.

No matter how upset I get, I take great comfort in the fact that, wherever she is, she’s now at peace and she’s probably looking down at us all and smiling (or grimacing sometimes!). Deep down I know she would be so happy at how everything has turned out.  Rest in Peace Gran, this one’s for you.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. christinelaennec
    Feb 22, 2013 @ 22:13:13

    My grandmother died over half my life ago and I still think of her nearly every day. I think she knows what I’m up to and encourages me! And I believe your grandmother has looked on proudly at what you’ve been up to.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

