People’s Palace and Winter Gardens.

Yesterday, as the sun was shining, I decided to walk up to Glasgow Green and have  a wee look round the People’s Palace and Winter Gardens. I’ve been to Glasgow Green several times but never had an opportunity to explore the attractions further so I thought I should finally give it a go.

Before I headed to the Green, I had a nice wee morning drinking Starbucks and watching the crowds pass through Buchanan Street (one of my favourite pastimes) before heading onto a vintage fair, the excellently named Gin and Teacups, that was being held in The Arches Cafe Bar. Although it was a relatively small event, I managed to grab a cute stripy dress and a pair of Rayban-esque Wayfarers which I was rather chuffed with. As you may have guessed, as soon as we get any half-decent weather I just cannot help myself from updating my summer wardrobe – very optimistic in Scotland I know!

002

Beautiful Sunny Day in Glasgow

004

Gin in Teapcups

024

Free Promo Mug! 

After stocking up on yet more bits for my wardrobe I finally headed east to the People’s Palace. I headed into the Winter Gardens first, mainly to warm up a wee bit! Although not as impressive as Kibble Palace in the Botanic Gardens, it was still quite a striking glasshouse and a nice setting for a cafe – for once, I didn’t eat anything although I was very tempted by the cakes on display!

019

Winter Gardens

009

010

Outside People’s Palace

I then headed into the actual museum itself and, if truth be told, I was slightly disappointed by the exhibitions.  While I enjoy social history and finding out more about Glasgow there was something I just didn’t really like about the museum. It was smaller than I expected and also full of children running around and shouting which didn’t help matters at all. However, I am glad I went so I can say I’ve been and I did see and learn some interesting stuff about life in the city. Also, it was all free so I suppose I can’t complain too much really!

Leave a Reply

